More news for users of WhatsApp that is increasingly a work tool: how to share screen functionality and when to make the most of it.

It has retired text messages (and mms), now even if any telephone company offers them to us in any promo, who uses them anymore. We have almost forgotten the primordial use of WhatsApp, an instant messaging app. Even boomers don’t use it that way anymore.

WhatsApp, now a work tool – Sjbeez

WhatsApp is increasingly a work tool, not just for smart working: documents, contacts, links, everything and more are shared. Mark Zuckerberg has understood this for some time, which is why he started releasing an infinite series of purely work-related features for the number one instant messaging app in the world.

From surveys (increasingly used to organize a meeting, a call, a work appointment between multiple users) to the modification of a text message, as long as it takes place within fifteen minutes of sending it, passing through the setting of a WhatsApp user name to be display to contacts instead of the telephone number, to the delight of those who still believe in privacy. But also the possibility of sharing the screen.

WhatsApp, a new way of communication: privacy and convenience, two in one when needed

In the first case we go beyond simple privacy. Of course, this raises the level of security, but in practice instead of relying exclusively on telephone numbers to identify contacts, users will be able to opt for a unique and memorable username, which means the opportunity to reach other people by entering a username within the app field, without knowing the phone number.

WhatsApp and screen sharing in video calls – Sjbeez

Imagine a company: with this feature it can communicate privately, safeguarding the users’ phone numbers and enabling an improved private communication experience. All always with the protection of end-to-end encryption. The screen sharing functionality in a video call is also included in this context, along with a new positioning for the tabs in the bottom navigation bar.

It is a purely work function, a turning point during video calls: you will be asked to share your screen with a simple tap on the new icon located in the call control view. When you decide to share your screen, everything that appears on your screen will be recorded and shared with whoever you are talking to. Even more than one.

With just one precaution: do not use it if you are in a call with a large group, for two reasons: the first is confusion on the screen, the second is that this function may not be available, for example, for those who use a version “obsolete” of WhatsApp. At most, however, you can share your screen live, at any time.